Dr. Anna Eckart-Dodd was recently honored as one of the 2021 recipients of the National David Lawrence Award for Community Service. — Kaiser Permanente Hawaii photo

Kaiser Permanente Hawaii recently honored Maui physician Dr. Anna Eckart-Dodd and members of the COVID-19 Vaccination Events Community Team as 2021 recipients of the National David Lawrence Award for Community Service.

The annual award honors a Kaiser Permanente employee or physician in each of Kaiser Permanente’s eight regions for volunteer activities that improve the health and well-being of the community.

To celebrate the accomplishments of Eckart-Dodd and the Community COVID-19 Vaccination Events Team, Kaiser Permanente will donate $10,000 each to Malama I Ke Ola Health Center and Parents and Children Together.

Eckart-Dodd co-founded the Malama Aina program at Maui Memorial Medical Center, where she works as an internal medicine hospitalist. The program connects physicians and staff to service projects focused on Hawaiian culture and caring for the land.

The Community COVID-19 Vaccination Events Team was the first in Hawaii to hold vaccination events in underserved communities. The team was led by Kimberly Gibu and its main members are Mae-Lynne Swoboda, Chelsea Kaneshiro and Juana Gonzales. To date, the team has participated in over 150 community COVID-19 vaccination events and vaccinated over 10,000 people.

The David Lawrence Community Service Award is named after Dr. David Lawrence, former President and CEO of Kaiser Permanente and longtime advocate for better health.

Today’s breaking news and more to your inbox